Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry Award launched

Feb 14, 2017, 09:21 AM

RSS award
Nominations are being sought for the 2017 Award for Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry, jointly run by the Royal Statistical Society (RSS) and Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (PSI). The award recognises a most influential example of the application of an existing statistical practice, or the implementation of an innovative statistical practice, in the pharmaceutical industry.

Nominees can be based anywhere in the world and do not need to be a member of PSI or the RSS. The award will be presented at the Annual PSI Conference which will be held in London from May 14th-17th, 2017. 

Last year’s winner was Richard Nixon of Novartis, who sadly passed away shortly after receiving the award for his work on ‘Enhancing decision-making in drug development using quantitative approaches’. Previous award winners are Katrina Gore of Pfizer and Nicky Best at GSK (2015), Craig Mallinckrodt of Eli Lilly (2014), Björn Bornkamp of Novartis (2013), Harry Southworth of AstraZeneca (2012), and Phil Woodward of Pfizer (2011).

'Making a nomination is not only a great way of recognising the achievements of the nominee, but it’s also good for enhancing the reputation and benefit of statistics within the pharmaceutical industry,’ commented Tim Rolfe, who is on the board of directors of PSI.

“Statistics plays a vital role in the pharmaceutical industry, and this award helps to recognise all the outstanding work that goes on in it,’ said Hetan Shah, executive director of the Royal Statistical Society.

Please click here for further information and to download a nomination form.

Nominations can be made until midnight on April 3rd 2017.

Upcoming Events

Latest Jobs